Roots

I stared across at him.
We both laid on the warm, sunken bed.
He was long asleep.
But I was still up,
holding his sides,
hoping I could hold this moment.

I reached my branches out to him,
their roots planted in my heart.
And to my surprise,
his branches reached back.
I let them grow over me,
as he did mine.

Weaving nature’s pathways
through our folds and faults,
in our arms, our legs, our bodies.
We let them hold us
in an eternal state of life,
just the two of us,
when I finally let go my hands
when I finally closed my eyes to sleep.

Feel free to offer critique or encouragement.

