A Farewell On A Wet Night

I have tread for miles in shoes still tied tight.
When their soles hit the loamy ground
in a forest I once called home
I knew I had finished my earthly travels.

The snow had soaked the grassy grit
in which my horse dug its hooves.
He was lonely once
and now to be so once again.

I walked inside my dripping shack,
the place where I could lay alone
with my memories and stories floating around
as I closed my eyes in a final sleep.

Feel free to offer critique or encouragement.

