Lowlights

Highlights of the night remind me of a previous life.
One still together, on the front lawn heather.
All these tall buildings and starless skies
remind me this is exactly what you despise,
and how I love the busy people and endless streets
shows how much the country heat would beat me down,
almost as hard as you had to me.

I’ll stay here in my city heaven,
away from your wild hatred.
But even in my safest haven,
I still see all the bruises you made me.
When I turn my head and see my new home,
I’ll remember it used to be with you.

Feel free to offer critique or encouragement.

