Me

All my life I knew the world,
my knowledge escaped others
but I caged the bird in me.
It seems that I can’t compare myself at all.
Wrapped in my own bindings
I taped when I was small.
But something more grows between
the tiny gaps in a rope pulled tight.
Between my ankles tied to stone,
between my fingers a light still shown.

All my life I was someone else
now the other cries for help.
It’s escaping my sacred place,
asking to finally take its place.
It’s me, it’s me.
All it wants is our dream.
It’s me, wondrous me,
and me, desperate me.

Shall I fully embrace myself?
Now that I’ve finally shown my face?
It’s brighter than anything I’ve seen before.
It scares me more than I’ve felt before.
It says it knows the right way home,
where I’ve been gone from for quite some time
Deciding now is what it asks,
because life’s to short for these moments to last.

All my life I was someone else
now the other cries for help.
Its escaping my sacred place,
asking to finally take its place.
It’s me.
It’s all I ever want to be.
It’s me, glorious me,
and me, monstrous me.

I’ll let it out,
I’ll take the chance.
Praying to God that I’ll get better
is my only way to make this pass.
Acceptance, truly, will be my path.
This new endeavor
will last forever.

Feel free to offer critique or encouragement.

