Story

If I lose myself today,
then I must have never been meant to walk far.
If I die today,
don’t place me among the stars.
If I leave a legacy today,
place me like a book,
upon a shelf with your memories.

And only then may you reread me now and again
with the fondness of binding well worn,
with the folding of pages remembered,
with the reminisce of your first time through.

And so if you ever do choose
to grab my spine from off the shelf,
do not stain my cover with tears.
We are all stories in the end
just remember mine as a good one.

Feel free to offer critique or encouragement.

