Shone

When I turned the telescope upward
the day fell away from me
and I was left with the night.
But just the black expanse –
no stars: were gone.
I was left with the ugliness.
I only saw that imperfectness.
I only believed in that imperfection.
No one ever moved my hand
just a little to the side
so I could see that shining light
That each of them had seen.
I looked down and away
and saw so many others with telescopes
pointed in all the wrong directions.
I saw them give up –
drop their hands,
drop their heads.
Just as I had done
because I hadn’t shifted just a little bit
to see how brightly I had shone.

Feel free to offer critique or encouragement.

